Posted in in the craft room, in the reading room

good stuff a-comin’…

Next week holds a double-whammy of fun, week-long events that I’m very much looking forward to.

Bout of Books 16 begins Monday.

bout of booksThe official blurb:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 9th and runs through Sunday, May 15th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 16 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

I’ve participated a few times in the past, but let’s just say my accomplishments have always been less than stellar. That’s okay, I’ve always had fun nonetheless. And because of that fact, I’m going to participate again.

As for goals, I would love to:

  1. Catch up entirely on my homeschool prep reading. (At this point that would be finishing 5 books, two of which I have started and maybe, just maybe, can finish up before Monday arrives.)
  2. Finish 3 books from my Smash Your Stack pile.

LOL–so even if I do finish those two books before Monday, that leaves me with a goal of reading 6 books next week. Yeah, dream on, Debra Anne.

 

Ali Edwards Week in the Life also begins Monday.

witl

A memory-keeping project that Ali has been doing since 2005, and one that I’ve always wanted to do. I don’t have a good track record with these sorts of memory-keeping projects however, and I’m already desperately afraid that I’m going to fail. Yeah, I know, not a good attitude to start with. But I swear I am utterly determined to give it my best shot! I’ve already done a bit of prep work and hope to do a bit more over the weekend.

 

So yeah, I figure despite my level of “success” on either project, next week should prove to be quite the enjoyable one.

Author:

just a middle-aged lady who gets giddy about lots of things

4 thoughts on “good stuff a-comin’…

  1. oh my! You sure are going to go through next week with blurry eyes! lol while you are reading I will be getting a sore butt. I am taking a road trip with my young girlfriend who took me to the Smoky Mts last year.. we are driving to the Grand Canyon! I hope my legs still work when we get there LOL.. So we will both have “good weeks”!!!! Enjoy your reading!!!

    Like

    1. Kelly–I totally think you should do it too!!! Seriously!!! The way Ali, and I think most people to do, and certainly the way I do it, doesn’t really need a lot of prep time. During the week, I’m just going to concentrate on taking tons of pictures of the our lives and jotting down notes all throughout. Then after next week is over, I can leisurely sit down and turn it all into an album. Yep, I totally think you should join in!!!

      Like

Say "hello" if you're so inclined.

