Posted in an appreciative life, tidbits and babblings

sheesh, time, where the eff did you go…

Okay, so this is always a busy time of year. But still…where the hell did these last two weeks go?!! Yep, school started. Max off to high school for his 9th grade year. Gray and I embarking on another year of homeschooling. Rich and Annie back at it with new schedules. It’s always an adjustment. We’re nearly in the swing of things, I think. And honestly, school stuff isn’t really what has thrown me off. The day school started, my dad found out he has to have his thyroid removed. They don’t know whether it’s cancer or not, but it has to come out either way because it is so enlarged that it’s soon going to be causing problems. The very next evening, my brother ended up in the ER. Is admitted because his gall bladder needs to come out. Usually a pretty simple surgery, but there were complications and he ended up with a whopping 15″ incision and 4 day stay in the hospital. And yet that wasn’t the shocker. In fact, his gall bladder crapping out on him was likely a blessing. Because an astute ER doc ordered a CAT scan because all his symptoms didn’t line up with the gall bladder issues. And this scan caught the mass in his kidney. Which is cancer. And as soon as he has recovered from this surgery, he has to have a kidney removed. Rich and I drove down to see him in the hospital–this was probably one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Both because I felt so much better after seeing him doing okay for myself, and because, though he’d never say so, I think he was really happy we came. My mom must have told me four or five times how much more talkative he was with me than he had been with her and my dad over the previous couple of days. Obviously, was great to see Mom and Dad too. Though omg, was not at all happy to see how hard a time my dad is having getting around. It wasn’t all that long ago that I last saw him, but the difference was frightening. He’s known he has to have his knees replaced for a while now, but he keeps putting it off. Don’t think he can put it off much longer. Anyway, there was even icing on that trip-to-my-hometown cake: I got to see my dear sweet wonderful friend Karen who happened to be in town for the weekend on one of her moving jaunts. (She’s moving back to the area permanently, which means I shall be able to see her much more frequently! 😊  Of course, it’s not hard to get more frequent than once, or now twice!, every 20 years, is it?)

Whew. Feel like I just dumped a big fat pile of stress on my dear old blog. Hopefully my dear old blog will forgive me, and hopefully so will any unfortunate soul who happened to read this. I had fully intended to make this an RIP post, but perhaps it would be better to just make that a post for another day…

Author:

just a middle-aged lady who gets giddy about lots of things

6 thoughts on “sheesh, time, where the eff did you go…

  1. I can’t say enough about how sorry I am that all this is happening. But maybe it will be all good because it’s caught in time. I know you can’t wait for it all to be fixed and over so you can stop stressing .. I pray it all comes out well for everyone. xoxoxo

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Pat! And yes, I really do think it’s all going to be okay. Lots and lots of people live with just one kidney, and it appears it was caught before it spread anywhere else. So I really, really do think my brother is going to be one of the very lucky ones when it comes to getting a cancer diagnosis. Thank you, my dear–you have no idea how very much I appreciate you!!!

      Like

  2. aw, Debi, I am so sorry to hear about your father and brother. Hope everything turns out well for them both! Glad the silver lining was a visit with a friend you will hopefully seem more of! Love to you and the family!

    Like

Say "hello" if you're so inclined.

